Development Consent Authority

Introduction and contact details

This section has information about the Northern Territory (NT) Development Consent Authority, its role, and how you can contact them.

The Development Consent Authority was established under section 82 of the Planning Act. Read the law.

Role of the Development Consent Authority

Each division of the Development Consent Authority determines development applications within their area.

Outside of the division areas the consent authority is the Minister for Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics.

A division of the Development Consent Authority can also be appointed to hold public hearings on behalf of the minister, or may hold a reporting body hearing on behalf of the minister.

In these cases the Development Consent Authority is not the decision maker.

Division areas

There are seven division areas associated with the larger population centres.

The following maps show the seven division areas of the authority:

Contact the authority

Contact the Development Consent Authority by either emailing or phoning the office of the chairman.

Development Consent Authority
GPO Box 1680, Darwin, NT 0801
Phone: (08) 8999 6044 
Fax: (08) 8999 6055

Print all pages in this section

Last updated: 28 January 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.